Our Story

Allison Kave and Jennifer Crain, Cofounders

It may sound more than a bit cliché, but Izzy’s started out as an American-in-Paris dream: A Californian’s love affair with Paris.  Living here for almost a decade with my partner and two children, I am still (and always!) over-the-moon for the gorgeous local produce and the uniquely French value placed on artisanal products, lovingly crafted in old traditions.  I also missed the freshness of the California plant-based food and cocktail scene — because you can take the girl out of San Francisco, but you can’t take the San Francisco out of the girl!

Over the past couple of years, with a small supply of courage (or as my father would say, ‘chutzpah’) and an even smaller supply of expertise, I decided to launch Saint Isidore, a California-style restaurant marrying the beauty of French local produce and tradition, with the fresh, plant-based ethos that’s long been developing in Cali.  It evoked summer visits to Venice’s Abbott Kinney neighborhood mixed with nostalgic family brunches at Greens restaurant and dinners at Alice Water’s Chez Panisse. 

We had an idea, a mission, a small team, we even had a chef, but we were missing the thing I loved most in the world — a California cocktail and a dessert menu that involved cookies and sprinkles. Enter Allison: talented cocktail mixologist, pastry chef, and founder of Brooklyn’s Butter & Scotch.  I had been already longing for her to bring her skills (and recipes!) to Paris, not even realizing she spoke French!  A mutual friend said we should connect, and immediately we clicked. Kismet.

COVID changed the plan. No longer the ideal moment to open a bootstrapped, brick-&-mortar  restaurant, we teamed up to reinvent ourselves for this new moment, because our passion for the California plant-based vision is there. Plus, there’s nothing I personally want more now than a yummy, fresh, surprise-my-tastebuds cocktail — and maybe, just maybe, down the line... a slice of cake or a pack of cookies (always in the plant-based spirit of Saint Isidore) — to add some sweetness to the ‘new normal’.  

Thanks for joining us on our new adventure as we put our hearts into giving you an exciting, California-dreamin’ taste experience in your own home, on the banks of Canal Saint Martin, for a socially-distanced picnic, a small home party, to share over Zoom or wherever your adventures take you... #izzyswashere 

Bisous,

Jennifer & Allison

Notre histoire

 


Allison Kave and Jennifer Crain, Cofounders

Cela peut sembler plus qu'un cliché, mais Izzy a commencé comme un rêve américain à Paris: une histoire d'amour entre un Californien et Paris. Vivant ici depuis près d'une décennie avec mon partenaire et mes deux enfants, Je suis toujours enchantée. Enchanté pour les magnifiques produits locaux et la valeur typiquement française accordée aux produits artisanaux, fabriqués avec amour dans de vieilles traditions. J'ai également manqué la fraîcheur de la scène californienne de plats et de cocktails à base de plantes - parce que vous pouvez sortir la fille de San Francisco, mais vous ne pouvez pas enlever le San Francisco de la fille!

Au cours des deux dernières années, avec un peu de courage (ou comme dirait mon père, `` chutzpah '') et une offre d'expertise encore plus restreinte, j'ai décidé de lancer Saint Isidore, un restaurant de style californien mariant la beauté du français. produits locaux et tradition, avec l'éthique fraîche et végétale qui se développe depuis longtemps à Cali. Il évoquait des visites estivales dans le quartier Abbott Kinney de Venise mélangées à des brunchs familiaux nostalgiques au restaurant Greens et des dîners à Chez Panisse d'Alice Water.  

Nous avions une idée, une mission, une petite équipe, nous avions même un chef, mais il nous manquait ce que j'aimais le plus au monde - un cocktail californien et une carte de desserts qui comprenait des biscuits et des paillettes. Entrez Allison: talentueuse mixologue de cocktails, pâtissière et fondatrice de Brooklyn's Butter & Scotch. J'avais déjà eu très envie qu'elle apporte ses compétences (et ses recettes!) À Paris, sans même me rendre compte qu'elle parlait français! Un ami commun a dit que nous devrions nous connecter, et immédiatement nous avons cliqué. Kismet.

COVID a changé le plan. Ce n'est plus le moment idéal pour ouvrir un restaurant bootstrap, brique et mortier, nous nous sommes associés pour nous réinventer pour ce nouveau moment, car notre passion pour la vision californienne du végétal est là. De plus, il n'y a rien que je veux personnellement plus maintenant qu'un délicieux cocktail frais, surprise-mes-papilles - et peut-être, juste peut-être, sur toute la ligne ... une tranche de gâteau ou un paquet de biscuits (toujours à base de plantes esprit de Saint Isidore) - pour ajouter de la douceur à la «nouvelle normalité».   

Merci de nous joindre dans notre nouvelle aventure alors que nous mettons tout notre cœur à vous offrir une expérience gustative excitante et californienne chez vous, sur les rives du canal Saint Martin, pour un pique-nique à distance sociale, une petite fête à la maison, à partager sur Zoom ou partout où vos aventures vous mènent ... #izzyswashere 

Bisous, 

Jennifer & Allison